NFL awards Pagano and Arians with AFC Coach of the Year award

The winners of the 2012 NFL 101 Awards have been announced.

After an unforgettable year in Indianapolis fueled by a heartwarming story of two coaches combining to lead the team through emotional challenges, Colts head coach Chuck Pagano and offensive coordinator Bruce Arians are co-winners of the AFC Coach of the Year award.

NFL 101 is the annual premier football awards event dedicated exclusively to the National Football League. Two offensive players who came back from serious injuries to lead their teams to the playoffs and two second-year defensive standouts will join coaches who engineered two of the league’s best stories as the 2012 winners of the awards.

A national media committee, comprised of 101 sportswriters and broadcasters who cover the NFL, selected the winners in each award category in a nationwide vote at the conclusion of the regular season.

Denver quarterback Peyton Manning has been selected as the AFC Offensive Player of the Year, Minnesota running back Adrian Peterson is the NFC Offensive Player of the Year, and Houston defensive end J.J. Watt is the AFC Defensive Player of the Year.

The 2012 season award winners will be presented with trophies at the 43rd Annual NFL 101 Awards gala in Kansas City Saturday, March 2, 2013, at the Westin Crown Center. The prestigious black-tie awards event was founded in 1969 and is presented this year by Perfect Output and ECCO Select.

The awards show hosts for the evening will be NFL Network sportscaster Paul Burmeister and CBS football analyst Rich Gannon, a former NFL Most Valuable Player and two-time 101 Award winner.

Event proceeds will be directed to the Truman Medical Center Charitable Foundation.


Click here to see a full list of the winners.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers