(July 13, 2015) – If your gun is stolen and you don't report it, you could be fined a lot of money.
The new proposal was introduced Monday night at the City-County Council meeting.
Indianapolis City-County Council member Kip Tew wants to make it mandatory for a gun owner in Marion County to report a lost or stolen firearm within 48 hours to the Marion County Health Department. A violator could be fined up to $2,500!
The Democrat says the health department is one of a few agencies that oversees all parts of the county.
But firearms attorney Guy Relford thinks this proposal is against state law.
The state's preemption law says a political subdivision may not regulate firearms. Relford says he plans to reach out to the city attorney.
“The motivation of wanting people to report stolen firearms – I totally understand. And agree with. But the city of Indianapolis does not have the legal authority to pass this ordinance,” said Relford.
That ordinance now heads to a city-county council committee for debate in August.