2012 NFL 101 Award winners

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

AFC Offensive Player of the Year, Peyton Manning, Quarterback, Denver Broncos

  • Seven-time 101 Award winner (record)
  • Top-rated passer in AFC with 105.8 rating
  • His 4,659 passing yards were second in AFC and sixth in NFL while his 37 touchdowns were best in AFC and third in NFL
  • Selected to the Pro Bowl for a 12th time (QB record)
  • Four-time NFL MVP (record)
  • Only quarterback in league history to pass for more than 4,000 yards 12 times
  • Led the Broncos to a 13-3 record, the AFC West Division title and the top seed in the AFC

NFC Offensive Player of the Year, Adrian Peterson, Running Back, Minnesota Vikings

  • First-time 101 Award winner
  • First in the NFL in rushing yards (2,097), yards per game (131.1), and carries for 20 or more yards (27)
  • Second in the league in yards per carry (6.0) and tied for third in the league with 12 touchdowns
  • Selected to the Pro Bowl for a fifth time
  • Only the seventh player in NFL history to rush for 2,000 yards in a single season
  • Led the Vikings to a 10-6 record, a second-place finish in the NFC North and a wild card berth

AFC Defensive Player of the Year, J.J. Watt, Defensive End, Houston Texans

  • First-time 101 Award winner
  • First in the NFL with 20.5 sacks for 139 yards lost, recorded 81 tackles and forced four fumbles
  • First in the league with 16 passes defended, leading to five interceptions
  • Broke the Texans record for sacks in a single season
  • Selected to the Pro Bowl for the first time
  • Led the Texans to a 12-4 record, the AFC South Division title and a second straight trip to the playoffs

NFC Defensive Player of the Year, Aldon Smith, Linebacker, San Francisco 49ers

  • First-time 101 Award winner
  • First in NFC and second in NFL with 19.5 sacks, recorded 66 tackles and forced three fumbles
  • Fastest player in the NFL to record 30 sacks, accounting for 33.5 his first two seasons
  • Set franchise record for single-season sacks this year after establishing the rookie sack record in 2011
  • Selected to the Pro Bowl for the first time
  • Led the 49ers to an 11-4-1 record and the NFC West Division title

AFC Coach of the Year, Chuck Pagano/Bruce Arians, Indianapolis Colts

  • Combined to lead the Colts to an 11-5 record and a spot in the AFC wild card game
  • Pagano left the team October 1 to begin treatments for leukemia. Arians took over as interim head coach until Pagano returned December 24
  • Both coaches are in their first year with Indianapolis
  • Pagano spent the previous three seasons as the secondary coach and then defensive coordinator for the Baltimore Ravens
  • Arians spent the previous eight seasons as the wide receivers coach and then offensive coordinator for the Pittsburgh Steelers.
  • Arians was running backs coach for the Kansas City Chiefs from 1989-92

NFC Coach of the Year, Pete Carroll, Seattle Seahawks

  • In his third year with the Seahawks and has compiled a regular-season coaching record of 58-54
  • Led Seattle to an 11-5 record; the 11 wins are third-most in franchise history
  • Wild card playoff win at Washington was Seahawks first road playoff victory in nearly 30 years
  • Went undefeated at home for just third time in Seahawks history
  • Also served stints as head coach for the Jets (1994) and the Patriots (1997-99)
  • Came to Seattle after coaching USC to a 97-19 record, six BCS bowl wins and two national championship game appearances
Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.