Ryan Newman wins the 20th running of the Brickyard 400

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

On the track that taught him how to love racing, Ryan Newman truly was back home again in Indiana.

Newman, a South Bend native, won the 20th running of the Brickyard 400 Sunday afternoon in style, making the Indianapolis Motor Speedway his own personal playpen all weekend long. A day after setting the track record for fastest qualifying lap by a stock-car, Newman returned on Sunday and seemingly never missed a beat.

For Newman, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway was home sweet home.

“To me, it’s awesome to be here at Indy,” said Newman after the race.

“It’s awesome because it’s my home state. I’ve raced go karts at pretty much every go kart track around here, been kicked out of half of them. Those are the things that make it special. I think about those things more than I carry the emotion on my cheeks.”

However, it’s not like Newman didn’t need a little luck on his side. Second-place finisher Jimmie Johnson was just as good all afternoon, if not better, having led 73 laps to Newman’s 45. But with 27 laps left in the race, an extended pit-stop from Johnson gave Newman the break that he needed, allowing the Hoosier to take the lead and never look back.

“There’s definitely disappointment there, but that’s racing. It happens,” Johnson said. “We win as a team, lose as a team. There’s been some late race mistakes on my behalf that have taken race wins away from us. Granted, not a major event like this. We still ended up second.

The two drivers led a total of 118 of the 160 laps combined, and were the main stories of a race that didn’t have much other passing or story-line to it. Other notable finishes in the race included Kasey Kahne in third, Tony Stewart in fourth, Jeff Gordon in seventh, and Danica Patrick in 30th.

Top 15:

  1. Ryan Newman
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Kasey Kahne
  4. Tony Stewart
  5. Matt Kenseth
  6. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  7. Jeff Gordon
  8. Joey Logano
  9. Juan Pablo Montoya
  10. Kyle Busch
  11. Martin Truex Jr.
  12. Paul Menard
  13. Carl Edwards
  14. Kurt Busch
  15. Jamie McMurray