Former Senator Richard Lugar to receive Presidential Medal of Freedom

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Former Senator Richard Lugar will be one of 16 people to be awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the White House announced Thursday.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the highest civilian honor awarded to citizens who have made contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace or to cultural or other signficant public or private endeavors.

Following the announcement, Senator Lugar released this statement:

“I am deeply honored to be named by President Barack Obama to receive our nation’s highest civilian honor, the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

I was inspired to think of “service above self” by loving parents, Marvin and Bertha Lugar, and have been supported for many years by my sweetheart, Char, and our four talented and devoted sons: Mark, Robert, John, and David.

I am grateful to God for leading me into paths of helping to make a constructive difference in my City of Indianapolis, my State of Indiana, and the safety and security of my great country.”

Other recipients include former President Bill Clinton, Loretta Lynn and Oprah Winfrey, among others.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.