New format for Indianapolis 500 qualifying announced

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind (March 7, 2014)– IndyCar officials announced a new format for how drivers will qualify beginning this May.

The new qualifying format for the 98th running of the Indy 500 will include three sessions of time trials over two eventful days and the pole-winner will be decided on what used to be Bump Day. IndyCar will also award yet-to-be-announced points incentives with the qualifying results. The goal of increasing entertainment value, fan attendance and TV viewership for the 2014 qualifying weekend on May 17-18, 2014.

All participants will be guaranteed one four-lap attempt to qualify, and the fastest nine drivers will move into the “Fast Nine Shootout.”

On Sunday, the previous days’ times are erased and entries 10 – 33 will complete another four-lap qualifying attempt to determine starting positions.The fastest nine will then make one four-lap attempt to determine the prestigious pole winner and starting front row.

IndyCar released this infographic to show the changes: click here to view.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.