FEMA denies state’s request for assistance after January snowstorm

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (April 2, 2014)– The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has denied Indiana’s request for assistance after a snowstorm in early January.

Governments and certain non profits in 49 counties would have been the benefactors of this assistance, which was requested on March 6th for the severe winter storm that lasted from January 5-9.

The state plans to appeal the decision.

The counties that were included in the request were Allen, Benton, Blackford, Boone, Carroll, Cass, Clay, Clinton, DeKalb, Delaware, Elkhart, Fountain, Fulton, Grant, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Henry, Howard, Huntington, Jasper, Jay, Johnson, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Lake, LaPorte, Madison, Marion, Miami, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Noble, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Tipton, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash, Warren, Wells, White and Whitley.

Public assistance grants, such as the ones requested, would pay 75 percent of eligible expenses including debris and snow removal, emergency protective measures such as search and rescue, and damage to buildings and equipment.