Cast of new ‘Star Wars’ movie announced

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

(April 29, 2014) – Luke, Han and Princess Leia are back—officially.

The team behind the new Star Wars movie from Disney-Lucasfilm revealed the official cast for Star Wars: Episode VII.

The team will include original stars Mark Hamill, Harrison Ford and Carrie Fisher as well as Star Wars veterans Antony Daniels (C-3PO), Peter Mayhew (Chewbacca) and Kenny Baker (R2-D2).

New members of the cast are John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson and Max von Sydow, according to

John Williams–who composed the memorable Main Title Theme and the Imperial March–will return as composer.

Star Wars cast

Photo from

In a statement released to the website, director J.J. Abrams said, “We are so excited to finally share the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII. It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again. We start shooting in a couple of weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud.”

Abrams is directing the film from a screenplay he co-wrote with Lawrence Kasdan. He shares producing credits with Kathleen Kennedy and Bryan Burk.

The movie opens on Dec. 18, 2015.