Silver Alert issued for 8-month-old girl missing from Indianapolis

Ryan Hunter-Reay wins 98th running of the Indianapolis 500

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Photo from IndyCar via Instagram

(May 25, 2014) – In the end, it was Ryan Hunter-Reay.

He held off a strong challenge at the end of the Indianapolis 500 from three-time winner Helio Castroneves. Marco Andretti was right behind them.

The finish was the second-closest in Indy 500 history, according to IMS officials. Hunter-Reay won by the slimmest of margins, edging out Castroneves by a mere .06 seconds.

The majority of the race went smoothly, but after Charlie Kimball crashed and brought out the first caution of the day on lap 150, several incidents followed, including one that took out pole sitter Ed Carpenter and James Hinchcliffe during a restart. During that crash, the two drivers were running three wide with Townsend Bell, who managed to avoid crashing.

Bell would hit a wall later in the race, sending debris all over the track. IndyCar officials red flagged the race with eight laps left to set up the dramatic finish in which Hunter-Reay and Castroneves fought for the lead position.

Former champion Scott Dixon was also involved in a wreck when his car got loose and hit the wall. Graham Rahal was the first driver retired from the race after his car experienced mechanical problems. It was also a rough day for 2013 champion Tony Kanaan, who experienced problems with his car and finished 26th.


  1. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  2. Helio Castroneves
  3. Marco Andretti
  4. Carlos Munoz
  5. Juan Pablo Montoya
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Sebastien Bourdais
  8. Will Power
  9. Sage Karam
  10. JR Hildebrand
  11. Oriol Servia
  12. Simon Pagenaud
  13. Alex Tagliani
  14. Jacques Villeneuve
  15. Sebastian Saavedra
  16. James Davison
  17. Carlos Huertas
  18. Ryan Briscoe
  19. Takuma Sato
  20. Jack Hawksworth
  21. Mikhail Aleshin
  22. Justin Wilson
  23. Martin Plowman
  24. Pippa Mann
  25. Townsend Bell
  26. Tony Kanaan
  27. Ed Carpenter
  28. James Hinchcliffe
  29. Scott Dixon
  30. Josef Newgarden
  31. Charlie Kimball
  32. Buddy Lazier
  33. Graham Rahal

Here’s our live blog of the race:

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.