Overtime session gives Joey Logano first Daytona win

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DAYTONA BEACH, Florida -(Feb. 22, 2015)   Joey Logano won his first career Daytona 500 Sunday despite the race going into overtime to determine a winner

Logano led 31 laps and took the lead for good on Lap 191. The race went into overtime and ended under caution on Lap 203. Logano led on the last lap as the field wrecked behind him, forcing another yellow.

Last year’s Sprint Cup Series champion, Kevin Harvick, finished second, followed by last year’s Daytona 500 winner Dale Earnhardt Jr., Denny Hamlin and Jimmie Johnson.

In his final Daytona 500, polesitter Jeff Gordon led the most laps (87), but finished 33rd after getting caught up in the final wreck.