Juan Pablo Montoya rallies to win 99th Running of the Indianapolis 500

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

(May 24, 2015) – Juan Pablo Montoya rallied late to win the 99th Running of the Indianapolis 500.

Montoya last won the race in 2000. At one point Sunday, he sat in 30th place. In the end, he edged out teammate Will Power after a thrilling finale that saw multiple lead changes. Montoya started the race in the 15th position.

He’d dropped into 30th after being hit from behind during a caution, prompting an unscheduled pit stop for repairs. He rallied quickly throughout the race, which necessitated an unscheduled pit stop to change out the rear wheel assembly. Montoya then worked his way through the field, eventually passing Scott Dixon and Will Power, who both had strong showings throughout the race.

The Indy 500 got off to an inauspicious start. Alex Tagliani had a problem with his gearbox and couldn’t join the other cars for the initial start. Conor Daly’s car caught fire, forcing him out of the competition. Both incidents happened before the race even started.

It didn’t take long for more problems. Almost immediately after the green flagged dropped, Takuma Sato and Sage Karam were involved in a crash. The incident ended Karam’s day, and he wasn’t happy about it, blaming Sato for the crash. Ryan Briscoe, stepping in for injured driver James Hinchcliffe, was also involved in an early incident. He finished 12th while Sato ended up 13th. Karam finished 32nd.

Later in the race, another crash took Ed Carpenter and Oriol Servia out of the running. Carpenter tried to pass Servia; the two made contact on lap 112. They were checked and cleared from the medical center.

Lap 154 claimed another fan favorite: Tony Kanaan. He spun out on turn three after losing control of his car. Before that, Kanaan had a strong showing throughout the 500. Team owner Chip Ganassi said a car adjustment may have led to the crash.

A major crash took out Jack Hawksworth, Sebastian Saavedra and Stefano Coletti, leaving the track scattered with debris. Saavedra needed help from emergency crews to get out of his car before being carried to an ambulance.

The accidents weren’t limited to the track either. Two pit crew members for Dale Coyne Racing were hurt after an incident involving three of the team’s drivers in the pits: Pippa Mann, James Davison and Tristan Vautier. One of the pit crew members went to IU Health Methodist Hospital.

The unofficial final results:

  1. Juan Pablo Montoya
  2. Will Power
  3. Charlie Kimball
  4. Scott Dixon
  5. Graham Rahal
  6. Marco Andretti
  7. Helio Castroneves
  8. JR Hildebrand
  9. Josef Newgarden
  10. Simon Pagenaud
  11. Sebastien Bourdais
  12. Ryan Briscoe
  13. Takuma Sato
  14. Townsend Bell
  15. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  16. Gabby Chaves
  17. Alex Tagliani
  18. James Jakes
  19. Simona de Silvestro
  20. Carlos Munoz
  21. Justin Wilson
  22. Pippa Mann
  23. Sebastian Saavedra
  24. Jack Hawksworth
  25. Stefano Coletti
  26. Tony Kanaan
  27. James Davison
  28. Tristan Vautier
  29. Oriol Servia
  30. Ed Carpenter
  31. Bryan Clauson
  32. Sage Karam
  33. Conor Daly

Here’s a look back at the race:

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.