Notre Dame earns No. 1 seed; IU, Purdue get spots in women’s NCAA Tournament

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (March 14, 2016) – Three teams will represent the state of Indiana in the women’s NCAA Tournament: University of Notre Dame, Indiana University and Purdue University are on the bracket.

Notre Dame is the 1-seed in the Lexington region and will play North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University on March 19 at 6:30 p.m. on ESPN2.

This is the fifth straight season the Fighting Irish are a top seed.

The second-ranked Irish (31-1) are looking to become just the second school to advance to six straight Final Fours. Fifth-ranked Maryland (30-3), the Big Ten champion, is seeded second. No. 12 Kentucky (23-7) is third and would have the hometown advantage for the first four rounds, and No. 13 Stanford (24-7) is seeded fourth.

The Irish, coming off a third straight Atlantic Coast Conference title, are in the tournament for the 21st consecutive season and seeking their first national championship since 2001.

The only other team to advance to the Final Four six straight times is Connecticut, which is looking to accomplish that feat for a record ninth straight time.

Indiana is a 9-seed in the Lexington region. They’ll play Georgia on March 19 at 9 p.m. on ESPN2.

Purdue is the 11-seed in the Lexington region. They face Oklahoma on March 19 at 1:30 p.m. on ESPN2.

In addition to Notre Dame, the other No. 1 seeds are UConn, South Carolina and Baylor.

The women’s Final Four will take place at Bankers Life Fieldhouse from April 3-5.

Download the official NCAA women’s bracket here.