Hinchcliffe leads Fast Nine after Saturday’s qualifying

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

INDIANAPOLIS — An exciting first day of qualifying for the Indianapolis 500 saw James Hinchcliffe clock the fastest time. The driver of the No. 5 car turned in a four-lap average speed of 230.946 MPH to place him atop the speed chart headed into Pole Day.

Hinchcliffe survived at the top after a frantic final hour that saw multiple drivers post high speeds. In the end, Ryan Hunter-Reay was second fastest at 230.805 MPH and Will Power was third at 230.736.

The Fast Nine advance to the Fast Nine Shootout on Sunday afternoon.  Only those nine drivers have an opportunity to win the pole for the 100th running of the Indy 500. The entire Fast Nine is listed below:

1) James Hinchcliffe (230.946)

2)Ryan Hunter-Reay (230.805)

3) Will Power (230.736)

4) Helio Castroneves (230.500)

5) Townsend Bell (230.452)

6) Josef Newgarden (230.229)

7) Mikhail Aleshin (230.209)

8) Carlos Munoz (230.173)

9) Simon Pagenaud (230.102)

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.