Where’s Pence? Governor’s name absent from list of speakers at Republican National Convention

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

You’ll find Newt Gingrich on there. You’ll find Gov. Chris Christie and Sen. Jeff Sessions.

The list of speakers at the Republican National Convention includes a number of notable names, but one intriguing name is missing.

Gov. Mike Pence.

Pence has been at the center of intense speculation that presumptive Republican nominee Donald Trump would pick him as his running mate.

The two met in Indianapolis Wednesday morning after Trump ended up with an extended stay in Indianapolis because of a flat tire on his plane. Trump then met at the Conrad with Gingrich and Sessions—they’re on the list.

Pence is not.

The list is only a partial one. Organizers expect retired quarterback Tim Tebow to speak at the event, but Tebow’s name is nowhere to be found. In addition, former IU basketball coach Bob Knight doesn’t appear on the list, but Trump said Knight would speak at the event.

During an appearance on FOX59 Morning News, Tim Swarens with the IndyStar said he didn’t put much stock on Pence’s absence from the list.

“The governor of Indiana would have probably not been on the convention speaker list. If his name was not in the mix for VP talk, he would not be on the convention list,” he said.

Swarens said Christie and Gingrich would’ve spoken at the event anyway because they’re nationally known.

The Republican National Convention is next week in Cleveland.

Here’s the list of speakers released by the RNC Thursday:

  • Pastor Mark Burns
  • Phil Ruffin
  • Congressman Ryan Zinke
  • Pat Smith
  • Mark Geist
  • John Tiegen
  • Congressman Michael McCaul
  • Sheriff David Clarke
  • Congressman Sean Duffy
  • Darryl Glenn
  • Senator Tom Cotton
  • Karen Vaughn
  • Governor Mike Huckabee
  • Mayor Rudy Giuliani
  • Melania Trump
  • Senator Joni Ernst
  • Kathryn Gates-Skipper
  • Marcus Luttrell
  • Dana White
  • Governor Asa Hutchinson
  • Attorney General Leslie Rutledge
  • Michael Mukasey
  • Andy Wist
  • Senator Jeff Sessions
  • Retired Lt. Gen. Michael Flynn
  • Alex Smith
  • Speaker Paul Ryan
  • Congressman Kevin McCarthy
  • Kerry Woolard
  • Senator Shelley Moore Capito
  • Dr. Ben Carson
  • Co-Chair Sharon Day
  • Natalie Gulbis
  • Kimberlin Brown
  • Antonio Sabato, Jr.
  • Peter Thiel
  • Eileen Collins
  • Senator Ted Cruz
  • Newt Gingrich
  • Michelle Van Etten
  • Lynne Patton
  • Eric Trump
  • Harold Hamm
  • Congressman Chris Collins
  • Brock Mealer
  • Congresswoman Marsha Blackburn
  • Governor Mary Fallin
  • Darrell Scott
  • Lisa Shin
  • Governor Rick Scott
  • Chairman Reince Priebus
  • Tom Barrack
  • Ivanka Trump
  • Attorney General Pam Bondi
  • Jerry Falwell Jr.
  • Rabbi Haskel Lookstein
  • Chris Cox
  • Senator Mitch McConnell
  • Tiffany Trump
  • Governor Chris Christie
  • Donald J. Trump Jr.
  • Governor Scott Walker