Will Power wins Grand Prix after taking pole

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Will Power led the final 34 laps Saturday and pulled away for his second straight IndyCar Grand Prix win, giving Team Penske its 200th series win.

Power defeated Scott Dixon of Chip Ganassi Racing by 2.2443 seconds.

Robert Wickens finished third, 8.1621 seconds back. He drives for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

It’s the fourth straight year the pole winner has won, but it sure wasn’t as easy as the other three.

Power had to survive a full-course caution that shrank a more than four-second lead to less than one, and then dealt with light rain that began with 13 laps to go. There were nine lead changes and 214 passes. A record-tying seven drivers led the race.

Penske’s Helio Castroneves finished sixth in his season debut.

Chevy has won three of this season’s five races. Honda has won the other two.