2012 Indy 500: Franchitti wins the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Dario Franchitti took the checkered flag at the Indy 500 on Sunday afternoon.

He battled Scott Dixon and Takuma Sato in the last few laps for first place, before Sato crashed on the final lap, prompting the caution to come out and give Franchitti the win.

This is Franchitti’s third time taking the checkered flag at the IMS.

The top five finishers were Franchitti, Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Oriol Servia and Ryan Brisoe.

Most Popular

Latest News

More News