Annual Indiana FOP Memorial Service to recognize fallen officers, 5 historical deaths

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

By Lindy Thackston

INDIANAPOLIS, IN — The annual Indiana FOP Memorial Service will be held Tuesday night.

Five people who died in the early-mid 1900s that have never been honored will be recognized, along with five officers who died in the line of duty in the last year.

Family members will get a crystal statue from FOP President Tim Downs that is etched with the officers name and end of watch date. The community is encouraged to attend the service and show their support for the families.

The Indiana FOP Memorial Service is at 7 p.m. on the West side of the Capitol on the corner of Senate Ave and Robert Orr Parkway.

Gov. Mike Pence will be the keynote speaker.

The service is expected to last an hour.

The Line of Duty deaths to be honored are:

Rod L. Bradway
End of Watch: 9/20/13

Jacob Calvin
Tipton County SD
EOW: 6/28/14

Perry W. Renn
EOW: 7/5/14

Jeff Westerfield

**Nick Schultz, the Merrillville officer killed this week, will also be honored

The historical deaths to be honored are:

Samuel F. Irish
Indianapolis Police Department
EOW: Monday, June 7, 1909

Jesse E. Nelson
Upland Police Department
EOW: Friday, August 1, 1924

Frank Ury
Grant County Constable’s Office
EOW: Friday, September 14, 1928

Fred Certain
Grant County Sheriff’s Office
EOW: Tuesday, September 18, 1928

William A. Drury
Jeffersonville Police Department
EOW: Wednesday, June 20, 1945

Most Popular

Latest News

More News