Oladipo, Sheehey among winners of Big Ten awards

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

CHICAGO – Indiana basketball didn’t get the player or coach of the year award from the Big Ten for this men’s basketball season, but they cleaned up in a number other awards from the conference.

On Monday the conference announced that Indiana guard Victor Oladipo was named the conference’s defensive player of the year while guard Will Sheehey was named as the best sixth man in the conference this season.

Oladipo was chosen along with Zeller on both the coaches and the media’s first-team All-Conference list but both players were left out of the consideration for the Big Ten Player of the Year.

That went to Michigan’s Trey Burke, who captured the Player of the Year honor over Oladipo from both the media and the coaches. Head coach Tom Crean also came up short in his bid for conference Coach of the Year as Wisconsin’s Bo Ryan swept the vote.

Former Hamilton Southeastern guard Gary Harris, now a guard for Michigan State, took home the conference’s Freshman of the Year as he beat out Hoosiers’ guard Yogi Ferrell. The guard from Park Tudor was named to the All-Freshman team along with Purdue center A.J. Hammons, who started his high school basketball career at Carmel.

Boilermaker guard Terone Johnson was also named the the coaches All Big Ten Third Team and was an honorable mention by the media.

Most Popular

Latest News

More News