This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – More than a dozen Indiana counties have travel advisories or watches as of Friday morning.

The move is intended to discourage unnecessary travel to limit the spread of coronavirus.

Six counties are under yellow travel advisories, the lowest level. This means people should use caution when heading out.

Nine counties are under orange travel watches. This means people shouldn’t travel unless necessary. Essential travel can include to and from work, to pharmacies and grocery stores, etc.

In some cities—such as Fishers and Carmel—officials have instituted travel advisories on a local level.

Counties under a travel advisory:

  • Blackford
  • Cass
  • Owen
  • Rush
  • Wabash

Counties under a travel watch:

  • Grant
  • Hancock
  • Henry
  • Howard
  • Madison
  • Marion
  • St. Joseph
  • Sullivan
  • Wayne

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security tracks travel advisories at its website.