DePauw caps off a perfect season winning Division III Women’s National Championship

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The DePauw women’s basketball team captured the Division III National Championship in dominating fashion, defeating Wisconsin-Whitewater 69-51 Saturday.  The Tigers jumped out to a 35-19 halftime lead and never looked back in capping off a perfect season.

DePauw becomes just the seventh school to win a D-III Women’s title while having an undefeated season.  Their 34 victories are also most ever by a D-III Women’s team.

Ellie Pearson scored 14 points and was named tournament MVP.  Kate Walkers led DePauw in the championship game with 17 points and was named to the all-tournament team.  DePauw was extremely efficient in the title game shooting 30-for-49 from the field while limiting Wisconson-Whitewater to 43% shooting.

The  Tigers enjoyed a confetti-style celebration on the Hope College court following the victory.  The Championship is the second for DePauw in the last seven years.

Most Popular

Latest News

More News