Marvel fans will see more of the MCU at home thanks to IMAX upgrade on Disney+

MCU IMAX versions
Image via IMAX

Disney+ subscribers are about to see a whole lot more of the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

More than a dozen MCU movies will get an upgrade to the IMAX expanded aspect ratio on Disney+ this week. What does that mean?

Most MCU movies were released in 2.35:1 widescreen format. For people with 16:9 TVs at home, that means prominent black bars at the top and bottom of the screen.

But some scenes for those movies were shot in the 1.90:1 IMAX expanded aspect ratio format, which is 26% taller than the typical widescreen format. Those scenes will take up more real estate on your TV at home, nearly filling the entire screen.

The IMAX editions of those movies will hit the streaming service on Nov. 12—just in time for Disney+ Day. The IMAX versions will carry a prominent label, so viewers who’d rather stick with the usual widescreen format will still have the option.

In addition, for many of the movies, only certain scenes were shot natively in IMAX format, meaning the aspect ratio will switch for those certain scenes. Avengers: Infinity War and Avengers: Endgame, however, were both shot entirely with IMAX digital cameras.

Eventually, Disney+ plans to add DTS sound, Dolby Vision, HDR10, 4K and Dolby Atmos sound to the IMAX editions.

Here are the 13 Marvel movies getting the IMAX treatment:

  • Ant-Man and the Wasp
  • Avengers: Endgame
  • Avengers: Infinity War
  • Black Panther
  • Black Widow
  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Captain Marvel
  • Doctor Strange
  • Iron Man
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
  • Thor: Ragnarok

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Most Popular

Fun Winter Activities

Home for the Holidays

More Home for the Holidays

Latest News

More News