This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Do you wait to make an important decision before reading your horoscope? Have you ever turned down a date because your zodiac signs weren’t compatible? Do you have a little tattoo of your zodiac sign on your ankle?

If so, we have very bad news for you.

NASA recently revealed that there are actually 13 zodiac signs, and now everything you ever knew about your horoscope has changed.

Here’s what happened.

3,000 years ago, astronomers didn’t totally understand how the Earth, sun, and stars moved. They also didn’t realize how vast the universe is.

At this time, the Babylonians already developed a 12-month calendar (based on the phases of the moon). So they divided the sky into 12 equal parts by looking at 12 distinct constellations by which the sun appeared to travel over the course of a year, according to NASA.

“But even according to the Babylonians’ own ancient stories, there were 13 constellations in the zodiac,” NASA report.

So they decided to pick one, Ophiuchus, to leave out in order to make a tidy match with their 12-month calendar.

“The Babylonians ignored the fact that the sun actually moves through 13 constellations, not 12. Then they assigned each of those 12 constellations equal amounts of time,” according to NASA.

NASA decided to do the math and incorporate Ophiuchus into the zodiac sign chart.

Photo courtesy of NASA
Photo courtesy of NASA

As you can imagine, many people are very upset about this!

But NASA doesn’t want any part of all this mess, and they’re emphasizing that they didn’t create a 13th zodiac sign – they just did the math!

And hey, if you are now an Ophiuchus instead of a Scorpio, it’s not too terribly bad.

According to Bustle, you’re “someone who wears bright colors, is considered wise, leaves the home young, generally has good fortune follow them, is open to change, and has a great sense of humor.”