Scott Dixon wins the IndyCar championship for a third time

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

FONTANA, CA – Say what you want about the popularity of the sport, but the level of on track drama and excitement was at its highest perhaps in the history of the open wheel series.

The final race of the Izod IndyCar Series didn’t veer off that course.

Featuring a number of cautions, passes, penalties and pit stop dramas, the MAV TV 500 provided and entertaining end to a competitive 2013 season for the series. It wasn’t until the final lap that a champion was crowned and not even he had it easy at the end.

Forced the pit in the final laps to prevent overheating, Scott Dixon managed to stay just ahead of Helio Castroneves to clinch his third IndyCar Series championship in his career. The driver of the No. 9 Honda Target Chip Ganassi car finished fifth, which gave him a 27-point advantage over Castroneves in the final standings.

Penske’s Will Power won the race itself while Ed Carpenter finished second and Tony Kanaan third.


Most Popular

Latest News

More News