Teachers killed at Sandy Hook receive special honor

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Six teachers who gave their lives trying to protect Sandy Hook students have received a special honor.

Medal of Honor recipients honored Rachel D’Avino, Dawn, Hochsprung, Anne Marie Murphy, Lauren Rousseau, Mary Sherlac and Victoria Soto with the Citizen Service Before Self Honors Medal at a special ceremony Monday.

The recipients also honored all teachers and staff with the Congressional Medal of Honor Society’s Certificate fo Commendation.

“Many teachers and staff members disregarded their own safety that day to hide and protect the children in their care.  Those acts of courage, sacrifice, and selflessness are the very same traits identified with the Medal of Honor; only they were demonstrated at a critical moment in hometown USA, not on a battlefield far from home,” said Harold A. Fritz, President of the Congressional Medal of Honor Society.

“Recognizing these ordinary Americans who performed extraordinary acts at home is the very reason for our Citizen Honors program.”

Every year, the Society’s Citizen Honors program takes nominations for hometown citizen heroes who’ve saved lives or changed fate.

This year’s nominations period closed at the end of 2012, and dozens of nominations were made for teachers and staff from the Sandy Hook school following the December 14th shootings.

After two rounds of judging, four other Citizen Honorees were awarded Medals on March 25 of this year – Medal of Honor Day – at Arlington National Cemetery.  The Society decided the Sandy Hook heroes should be recognized separately with a special ceremony in Newtown.

Most Popular

Latest News

More News