This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Indianapolis Colts used the NFL’s waiver wire to address their defensive secondary Sunday.

They were awarded rookie safety Matthias Farley, waived by Arizona, and veteran cornerback Neiko Thorpe, waived by Oakland. To make room on the 53-player active roster, the team released tight end Chase Coffman and cornerback Jalil Brown.

Farley, a 5-11, 210-pounder, appeared in 52 games, 26 as a starter, at Notre Dame. He collected 192 tackles, 9.5 tackles for loss, 3.5 sacks and eight interceptions. He signed with the Cardinals as an undrafted free agent.

The 6-2, 185-pound Thorpe has appeared in 37 games, two as a starter, during a three-year career with the Kansas City Chiefs and Oakland Raiders. He spent the 2013 season with the CFL’s Toronto Argonauts.

The Colts also filled nine of the 10 spots on their practice squad: defensive end Sterling Bailey, linebacker Trevor Bates, safety Lee Hightower, tight end Mike Miller, cornerback Chris Milton, defensive tackle Kelcy Quarles, guard Adam Redmond, wide receiver Tevaun Smith and offensive tackle Jeremy Vujnovich.